Boards of Directors

Although the Canadian Newspaper Association and the Canadian Community Newspapers Association are co-managed under the Newspapers Canada brand, each association is governed by its own board of directors. Each board is comprised of publishers and senior executives representing the diverse interests of the association's membership. The role of the boards is to identify priorities, approve a budget, develop policy, oversee the committees, and monitor the associations' directions and performance. Committees are chaired by members of the board of directors.

Canadian Newspaper Association

Bob Cox, Publisher
Winnipeg Free Press

Craig Barnard, Senior Vice President, Reader Sales & Service/Flyer Force & Community Publishing Group
Postmedia Network Inc.

Neil Oliver, Group Publisher, Vice-President, Metroland West
Metroland Media


Phillip Crawley, Publisher and CEO
The Globe and Mail

Wendy Desmarteaux, Senior Vice-President Digital Operations and Transformation
Postmedia Network Inc.

Patricia Graham, Ombudswoman
Brunswick News Inc.

Julia Kamula, Senior Vice President, Local Solutions
TC Media

Peter Kvarnstrom, President, Community Media
Glacier Media Inc.

M. Martin Cauchon, Président
Le Soleil

President & Chief Executive Officer
John Hinds

Canadian Community Newspapers Association (CCNA)

Roger Holmes
Star News Inc., Wainwright, AB

Tim Shoults
Glacier Media Inc., Vancouver, BC

Gordon Cameron
Hamilton Community News, Hamilton, ON

Chairman & Immediate Past President
Abbas Homayed
Northern Life, Sudbury, ON


Sarah Holmes
Gabriola Sounder, Gabriola, BC

Jason Lyon
Rocky Mountain Outlook, AB

Chris Ashfield
Grasslands News Group, Whitewood, SK

Kim MacAulay
Clipper Weekly, Beausejour, MB

David Adsett
Fergus Wellington Advertiser, Fergus, ON

Steve Bonspiel
The Eastern Door, Kahnawake, QC

Paul MacNeill
Island Press, Montague, PE

Chief Executive Officer
John Hinds